

2023 SMA ACT RESEARCH AWARDS

Guidelines and selection criteria for applicants



INTRODUCTION

Drawing together representatives from key stakeholders in Sports Medicine and Science, and Physical Activity research in the ACT, these SMA ACT awards aim to promote, support and acknowledge quality research within the ACT.

Submissions are called from sport medicine and science, and physical activity areas for these awards.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ON SUBMITTING A PAPER

Please read the information and guidelines below. All researchers and professionals, who wish to present their current work for consideration, **need to submit a manuscript or research paper along with an abstract** following the guidelines listed below.

The submitting author MUST be the first named author on the manuscript. The members of the ACT Sports Research Award Committee represent diverse backgrounds within the ACT and have experience in research and evidence-based practice. Research papers published in 2023 will be accepted and are eligible to apply for the awards listed.

A. RESEARCH AWARD CATEGORIES

- · New Investigator
- · Open Award
- · HDR Investigator Award

Authors submitting a manuscript for these awards <u>MUST</u> select the category they would like to apply for. Research papers related to clinical, health or recreational sport are strongly encouraged.

Authors wishing to be considered for a New Investigator Award must be within 4 (four) years of completion of their PhD at the time of submission and have not been successful in this category in the previous year. They must select the New Investigator Award category when submitting their paper.

Authors wishing to be considered for the HDR Investigator Award must be enrolled in a Masters (by research) or PhD course to be eligible at the time of the submission deadline. Where no category is selected, the paper will only be eligible for the Open Award.

B. PRIZES/AWARDS

All awards for the above categories include cash prizes:

- New Investigator: \$1000 paid into their nominated bank account sponsored by UC Research Institute for Sport and Exercise.
- Open: \$800 prize paid into their nominated bank account sponsored by SMA.
- HDR Investigator: \$500 prize paid into their nominated bank account sponsored by the Discipline of Sport and Exercise Science at the University of Canberra.



C. ELIGIBILITY

These awards provide recognition for quality research within the ACT. To be eligible for these awards, the primary author is considered the first named author on the paper. Both authors from private practice and/or aligned to an ACT based University are encouraged to submit their work for these awards. Surrounding areas of ACT will be considered and authors who wish to clarify whether they are eligible can apply in writing with their details to the ACT SMA Research Committee via email to **members@sma.org.au**.

Eligible papers must:

- Be submitted by the lead author (abstract and paper), which can be in the same document.
- Be original research (might be published within 12 months prior to the award submission.
- · Be submitted in English and have the first author's name in the header/footer of all pages.
- Clearly state which award(s) they would like to be considered for.
- Be enrolled in a Masters or PhD course to be eligible for the HDR Investigator Award.

The deadline for paper submission is **Friday 15 September 2023**, **5:00pm AEST** submitted electronically to **members@sma.org.au** with the email subject "SMA ACT RESEARCH AWARDS SUBMISSION".

D. ALLOCATION OF AWARDS

Work submitted must be current and original work, not previously presented in Australia.

Winners of each category are expected to present at the SMA awards evening.

- Prizes for any papers which receive special mention will be presented at the awards evening (exact date TBC).
- Papers will be allocated to the award shortlist at the discretion of the committee.

E. THE JUDGING PROCESS

The ACT Sports Research Awards committee represents different research institutes, universities and private practices within ACT and have strong backgrounds in research and evidence-based practice.

This committee is comprised of:

- Alex Murray SMA ACT State Council Chair
- Associate Professor Julie Cooke Faculty of Health, University of Canberra
- Professor Gordon Waddington UCRISE & AIS
- · Associate Professor Naroa Etxebarria UCRISE
- Dr Kathleen Miles Australian National University

Judges may seek external assistance for submissions with topics outside their areas of expertise.

- More than one paper in each category must be received in order for a prize to be awarded.
- If only one paper is received for the open category the runner up in the New Investigator category will be judged against the open paper so that an award can be issued.
- The judges' decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into.