• Location: Various locations across NSW

Concussion is a significant and complex health issue within the Australian sporting landscape at all levels of play. Following on from a successful 2018 roadshow, Sports Medicine Australia and the NSW Office of Sport will again partner to deliver a series of education workshops across NSW in 2020. These programs will provide those in attendance with a greater knowledge of concussion, its prevalence, signs and symptoms, recognition and management, return to play and recent research in the area.

Presented by highly respected researcher, Dr Andrew Gardner from the University of Newcastle, this is a great opportunity open for all within the sporting community.

All workshops are FREE and will run from 6.30pm – 9.00pm. Registration is essential.

Dates and Locations

Sydney Olympic Park
Thursday 30th January
Office of Sport – Ian Thorpe Theatrette

Belrose
Friday 31st January
Club Belrose

Cronulla
Friday 7th February
Cronulla RSL

Castle Hill
Friday 21st February
Castle Hill RSL

Penrith
Friday 28th February
Penrith RSL

Newcastle
Wednesday 4th March
John Hunter Hospital

Campbelltown
Thursday 5th March
Wests Leagues Club

Dubbo
Wednesday 22nd April
Dubbo RSL

Parkes
Thursday 23rd April
Parkes Ex-Services Club

Bathurst
Friday 24th April
Bathurst Panthers

Gosford
Tuesday 28th April
Gosford RSL Club

Muswellbrook
Wednesday 29th April
Muswellbrook RSL

Wollongong
Thursday 30th April
Wests Leagues – Unanderra

Queanbeyan
Friday 1st May
Queanbeyan Roos Club

Coffs Harbour
Friday 8th May
Cex Club

Port Macquarie
Friday 15th May
Port Macquarie Panthers

Griffith
Tuesday 21st July
Griffith Exies Club

Albury
Wednesday 22nd July
Albury Commercial Club

Wagga Wagga
Thursday 23rd July
Wagga Wagga RSL

Jindabyne
Friday 24th July
Jindabyne Bowling Club

Tweed Heads
Tuesday 29th September
Kingscliff Beach Bowls Club

Lismore
Wednesday 30th September
Lismore Workers

Armidale
Thursday 1st October
Armidale Ex Services Memorial Club

Inverell
Friday 2nd October
Inverell RSM Club

Speakers

Dr Gardner is an Early Career Fellow with the School of Medicine & Public Health at the University of Newcastle, and an honorary clinical research fellow with the Hunter New England Local Health District. He is also a Co-Director of HNEH’s Sport Concussion Clinic, an Executive Committee Member of the Priority Research Centre for Stroke and Brain Injury, and serves as a member of the Rugby Australia’s Concussion Advisory Group.

Please click on your location of choice in the ‘About’ tab to register