Western Australia

Concussion in Sport

The Concussion in Sport Education Project, is managed by Sports Medicine Australia WA in partnership with the Department of Sport and Recreation.

The aim of the project is to raise awareness and understanding of concussion and to ensure best practice management of concussion injuries thought all levels of sport and recreation in Western Australia.

Recently SMAWA received additional funding  to launch our new Concussion in Sport Project website at sportconcussion.com.au.

The website features important information on recognising concussion, developing concussion policy, immediate and follow up management of concussion injuries and information relating to children and concussion.

A new television commercial has also been developed as part of an education package which Sports Medicine Australia (WA Branch) is delivering in Western Australia.  The premise of our campaign is that concussion injuries are not always obvious to the target audience – the player, coach, umpire, support staff, parents or spectators. However, everyone can learn to recognise the signs and symptoms of concussion.







Click here to view the Television Commercial.


Concussion Workshops

Clubs can also host a Concussion in Sport Workshop – This one hour workshop is an excellent way to increase your clubs understanding of the management of concussion injuries. Click here to book in a workshop.



The State Government through the Department of Sport and Recreation and Lotterywest is a major supporter of Sports Medicine Australia WA Branch.

DSR Logo

Contact Us

PO Box 57

Suite 6
565 Hay Street

Phone: (08) 9285 8033
Fax: (08) 9388 6088


State Council

Deputy Chairperson: Mr Craig Wilson (Sports Physiotherapist)

Councilor: Mr Anthony McEvoy (Musculoskeletal Physiotherapist)
Councilor: Mr Ian Wee (Perth Integrated Health)
Councilor: Mr Robert Haagman (Podiatrist)
Councilor: Dr Sandra Mejak (Sport and Exercise Medicine Physician)
Councilor: Ms Sarah Harris (PHD Candidate, Exercise and Sports Science, University of Notre Dame)
Councilor: Mr Myles Murphy (Sports Physiotherapist)
Councilor: Ms Kathryn Ryding (Level 2 Sports Trainer, First Aid Trainer )